The Sixty-Eight Rooms (Prebound)

The Sixty-Eight Rooms Cover Image
By Marianne Malone, Greg Call (Illustrator)
$17.20
Special Order

January 2010 Indie Next List


“When Jack and Ruthie find themselves heading to the Thorne Miniature Rooms in the Children's Galleries of the Chicago Art Institute for a class field trip, little do they know they will discover the key to taking them back in time and opening the doors to rooms that hold the secrets of history. This is a story that will sweep young readers into the magic of an exciting art and history mystery adventure.”
— Carol Hicks, Bookshelf At Hooligan Rocks, Truckee, CA

Description


Almost everybody who has grown up in Chicago knows about the Thorne Rooms. Housed in the deep inside the Chicago Art Institute they are a collection of 68 exquisitely crafted miniature rooms. Each room is set in a different historic period, and every detail is perfect. Some might even say, the rooms are "magic." Imagine--what if on a field trip, you discovered a key that allowed you to shrink so that you could sneak inside and explore the rooms' secrets? What if you discovered that others had done so before you? And that someone had left something important behind? Fans of "Chasing Vermeer, The Doll People, "and" The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs Basil E. Frankweiler" will be swept up in the magic of this classic feeling debut.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780606222402
ISBN-10: 0606222405
Publisher: Turtleback Books
Publication Date: April 5th, 2011
Pages: 265
Language: English
Series: Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures