Go Home! (Paperback)

Go Home! Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


"The notion of home has always been elusive. But as evidenced in these stories, poems, and testaments, perhaps home is not so much a place, but a feeling one embodies. I read this book and see my people--see us--and feel, in our collective outsiderhood, at home." --Ocean Vuong, author of Night Sky with Exit Wounds

Asian diasporic writers imagine "home" in the twenty-first century through an array of fiction, memoir, and poetry. Both urgent and meditative, this anthology moves beyond the model-minority myth and showcases the singular intimacies of individuals figuring out what it means to belong.

About the Author

Rowan Hisayo Buchanan is the author of the novel Harmless Like You. She is British, Japanese, Chinese, and American--hyphenation and ordering vary depending on the day. She has a BA from Columbia University, an MFA from the UW-Madison, and was an Asian American Writers' Workshop fellow. Her short work has appeared in Granta, The Guardian, Guernica, Apogee, and the White Review, among other places. She has received residencies from the Gladstone Library and Hedgebrook. Viet Thanh Nguyen's novel The Sympathizer is a New York Times best seller and won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction. Other honors include the Dayton Literary Peace Prize, the Edgar Award for Best First Novel from the Mystery Writers of America, the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction from the American Library Association, the First Novel Prize from the Center for Fiction, a Gold Medal in First Fiction from the California Book Awards, and the Asian/Pacific American Literature Award from the Asian/Pacific American Librarian Association. His other books are Nothing Ever Dies: Vietnam and the Memory of War (a finalist for the National Book Award in nonfiction) and Race and Resistance: Literature and Politics in Asian America. He is the Aerol Arnold Chair of English and Professor of American Studies and Ethnicity at the University of Southern California. His newest book is a short story collection, The Refugees, published in February 2017 from Grove Press. Alexander Chee is the author of the national bestseller, The Queen of the Night, published in February of 2016 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. His acclaimed debut novel, Edinburgh, was first published in 2001. He is a contributing editor at The New Republic, an editor at large at VQR and LitHub, and a critic at large for The Los Angeles Times. His essays and stories have appeared in Best American Essays 2016, The New York Times Book Review, Tin House, Slate, Guernica, NPR, and Out, among others. He is winner of the Whiting Award, and fellowships from the NEA and the MCCA, and residency fellowships from the MacDowell Colony, the VCCA, Civitella Ranieri and Amtrak. He has taught writing at the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop, Columbia University, the University of Texas - Austin and Princeton University, and is currently an associate professor of English and Creative Writing at Dartmouth College. Mia Alvar's collection of short stories, In the Country, won the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Debut Fiction, the 2015 Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Award, and the Janet Heidinger Kafka Prize from the University of Rochester. Mia has been a writer in residence at the Corporation of Yaddo, the Djerassi Resident Artists Program, Lower Manhattan Cultural Council, and the Blue Mountain Center for the Arts; and received support from the Bread Loaf Writers Conference, the Sirenland Writers Conference, and the Sarah Lawrence Seminar for Writers. Her work has appeared in One Story, The Missouri Review, the Cincinnati Review, and elsewhere. Born in the Philippines and raised in Bahrain and the United States, she received her MFA from Columbia University and lives in New York City. Chang-Rae Lee is the author of Native Speaker (winner of the Hemingway Foundation/PEN Award for first fiction), A Gesture Life, Aloft, and On Such a Full Sea. Selected by The New Yorker as one of the twenty best writers under forty, Chang-Rae Lee teaches writing at Stanford University. Marilyn Chin was born in Hong Kong and raised in Portland, Oregon. Her poetry books include Hard Love Province, Rhapsody in Plain Yellow, Dwarf Bamboo, and The Phoenix Gone, The Terrace Empty. She has also written a book of fiction called Revenge of the Mooncake Vixion, winner of the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award in 2015. She has won numerous awards, including the United Artist Foundation Fellowship, the Rockefeller Foundation Fellowship, the PEN/Josephine Miles Award, five Pushcart Prizes, a Fulbright Fellowship to Taiwan, and more. Presently, Marilyn Chin is the Grace Hazard Conkling Poet-in-Resident at Smith College. Kimiko Hahn is the author of nine books, including Volatile, The Unbearable Heart, Toxic Flora, and Brain Fever. Honors include a Guggenheim Fellowship, PEN/Voelcker Award, Shelley Memorial Prize. Hahn is a distinguished professor in the MFA Program in Creative Writing & Literary Translation at Queens College, City University of New York and the President of the Board, Poetry Society of America.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781936932016
ISBN-10: 1936932016
Publisher: Feminist Press
Publication Date: March 13th, 2018
Pages: 320
Language: English