Among the Ten Thousand Things (Kobo eBook)

Among the Ten Thousand Things Cover Image
$5.99
Available Now

Description


**NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE AND *THE HUFFINGTON POST* • Features an exclusive conversation between Julia Pierpont and Lena Dunham

For fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel, a portrait of an American family on the cusp of irrevocable change, and a startlingly original story of love and time lost.**

Jack Shanley is a well-known New York artist, charming and vain, who doesn’t mean to plunge his family into crisis. His wife, Deb, gladly left behind a difficult career as a dancer to raise the two children she adores. In the ensuing years, she has mostly avoided coming face-to-face with the weaknesses of the man she married. But then an anonymously sent package arrives in the mail: a cardboard box containing sheaves of printed emails chronicling Jack’s secret life. The package is addressed to Deb, but it’s delivered into the wrong hands: her children’s.

With this vertiginous opening begins a debut that is by turns funny, wise, and indescribably moving. As the Shanleys spin apart into separate orbits, leaving New York in an attempt to regain their bearings, fifteen-year-old Simon feels the allure of adult freedoms for the first time, while eleven-year-old Kay wanders precariously into a grown-up world she can’t possibly understand. Writing with extraordinary precision, humor, and beauty, Julia Pierpont has crafted a timeless, hugely enjoyable novel about the bonds of family life—their brittleness, and their resilience.

Praise for Among the Ten Thousand Things

“A luscious, smart summer novel . . . by a blazingly talented young author.”**—*The New York Times Book Review***
 
“This book is one of the funniest, and most emotionally honest, I’ve read in a long time.”**—Jonathan Safran Foer**
 
“Obsessively compelling . . . emotionally sophisticated . . . Among the Ten Thousand Things rises above [other novels] for its imagined structure, sentence-by-sentence punch, and pure humanity.”**—*Vanity Fair***
 
“Gripping . . . Pierpont brings this family of four to life in sharply observed detail. . . . An acute observer of social comedy, Ms. Pierpont has a keen eye for the absurd.”**—*The Wall Street Journal***
 
“Pierpont’s language is heart-stopping. . . . Between Pierpont’s literary finesse and her captivating characters, [*Among the Ten Thousand Things*] reads like a page-turner.”**—*Entertainment Weekly* (grade: A)**
 
“A twisty, gripping story—that packs an emotional wallop.”**—*O: The Oprah Magazine***

“There are going to be as many ingenious twists and turns in this literary novel as there are in a top-notch work of suspense like Gone Girl.”**—Maureen Corrigan, NPR’s Fresh Air**

“Tender, delicately perceptive . . . Pierpont’s voice is wry and confident, and she is a fine anthropologist of New York life.”**—*The Washington Post***

“Pierpont displays a precocious gift for language and observation. . . . She captures the minutiae of loneliness that pushes us away from each other and sometimes brings us back.”**—*San Francisco Chronicle***

From the Trade Paperback edition.