Jamie's Staff Picks

The Mothers Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780399184512
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - October 11th, 2016

The mothers of this book ostensibly refers to the gaggle of elderly churchgoing women who comment on the congregation around them, especially the trio of Nadia, Luke, and Aubrey. But of course it's about more than that - it refers to motherhood itself, whether it's real, lost, aborted, adoptive, or conflicted. The three young people at the heart of the story are all flawed but realistic and easy to root for. It's a book about salvation - not the spiritual salvation the gossiping but well-intentioned mothers seek, but the kind that comes with self-acceptance and growth. "The Mothers" is an honest, modern, and triumphant book. 


Cruel Beautiful World Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781616203634
Availability: Special Order
Published: Algonquin Books - October 4th, 2016

When I finished this book I let out a deep breath I didn't realize I was holding.  In 1969, Lucy runs away with her high school English teacher, leaving her sister Charlotte behind to deal with the fallout.  This is a brutal but warm story that is full of surprises.  It makes me ache.


The Nix Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781101970348
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - May 2nd, 2017

Kids of Appetite Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780451470782
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - September 20th, 2016

"Kids of Appetite" is not a sideways hug of a book. It is a bear hug that sneaks up on you with the effortlessly diverse cast of characters and the beautifully plotted bits of information that David Arnold sprinkles throughout until you are smiling (both inside and out). Vic and Mad are unique and wonderful and like Mim before them I just want to be their best friend. With "Kids of Appetite," Arnold has created a second book as accomplished as "Mosquitoland" and proven that he's the real super racehorse.


You Will Know Me Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316231060
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Back Bay Books - April 25th, 2017

Life Moves Pretty Fast: The Lessons We Learned from Eighties Movies (and Why We Don't Learn Them from Movies Anymore) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501130458
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - June 14th, 2016

A shot of nostalgia right in the arm, this book made me laugh and nod while explaining all the life lessons we didn't realize 80s movie's held.  "Baby Boom" is totally feminist.  "Ferris Bueller" is all about class.  "Steel Magnolias" is one of the last films with women actresses who aren't 20 and taut.  "Ghost Busters" is among the last movies with actual grown men as characters as opposed to the Apatow manboy.  This is really fun!


Homegoing Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101971062
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - May 2nd, 2017

Staff Pick Logo
Sweetbitter Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101911860
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - April 4th, 2017

Watch Tess navigate the world of high end dining.  Watch her play as hard as she works - if not harder.  Watch as she gets pulled in by the bad boy bartender, knowing as well as she does that he's a disaster.  Watch as Stephanie Danler creates something purer & more interesting than you were expecting.  This book has me in its thrall.  This familiar tale is anything but ordinary.


Party of One: A Memoir in 21 Songs Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780804187985
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crown Archetype - June 28th, 2016

Dave Holmes was an MTV VJ in the nineties - which you probably know if you were born between 1970 and 1985.  This memoir is a burst of musical nostalgia; it's the story of coming out when he was never quite "in" the closet; it's funny & poignant & a delight.


Ally Hughes Has Sex Sometimes Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101984246
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton Books - June 14th, 2016

I'll be honest:  this cover is TERRIBLE.  But, this book is awesome and I read the whole thing in one sitting with a grin on my face.  Ally Hughes - single mom, professor of feminist economics at Brown, generally staid and predictable - has a magical, ridiculously sexy and romantic weekend with a former student named Jake.  Flash forward 10 years later and see how Jake's return to her life takes twists you don't expect.  Seriously.  I was all grins and goofy giggling.


Sunday's on the Phone to Monday Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501116889
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Touchstone Books - April 18th, 2017

In her debut, Christine Reilly has written a novel that is clever and yet full of capital-H Heart.  The tale of the Simone family shows how illness - both physical and mental - ripples across generations.  Fans of "Fates & Furies" will love this!


Among the Ten Thousand Things Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780812985344
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Trade - June 14th, 2016

Though I read this book a year ago, I still vividly remember the sentences and turns of phrase that Julia Pierpont created that made me gasp.  The Shanley family is on the verge of collapse as the book starts, and Pierpont's skill and daring makes the "what will happen" not as important as the "why and how it will."  Truly beautiful and strikingly assured for such a young, emerging author, this book makes a perfect lazy summer read.


The Serpent King Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780553524024
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - March 8th, 2016

THIS BOOK.  Oh, man.  I could not love it more if I tried.  Dill, Lydia, and Travis are outsiders in their small Tennessee town but at least they have one another.  A debut novel that explores place, friendship, faith, family, poverty, and belonging, "The Serpent King" had me sobbing and laughing and laugh-sobbing.  I wish I could read it again for the first time.  This is a young adult book that belongs in the hands of every human, young or old.


The Ramblers Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062413321
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow & Company - October 4th, 2016

Fans of Meg Wolitzer's "The Interestings" will devour this book, the story of three thirty somethings who met years ago at Yale and are just now becoming the people they thought they would be.  Smith, Tate, and Clio are flawed but real, engaging and infuriating all at the same time, and when this book was over I wanted to spend more time with them.


Daredevils Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101979907
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - April 11th, 2017

Set in the dusty, slouchy days of 1970's Idaho, "Daredevils" follows two teenagers who just want OUT of the Mormon lives they've been forced into by sometimes well-intentioned, sometimes not, relatives.  Shawn Vestal veers left when you're least expecting it and manages to break and fill your heart all at once.  One of my favorite books this year.


The Prom Goer's Interstellar Excursion Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780375847400
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ember - April 12th, 2016

A seriously silly and hysterical romp through space, "Prom Goer's..." makes me think of "Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy" and "Almost Famous" with a nice helping of 21st century snark served on the side.  This book made me laugh until I snorted with its description of interspecies band politics and a cast of characters who are both ridiculous and lovable all at once.


Edie Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780802134103
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grove Press - October 14th, 1994

It's back in print!  While ostensibly an oral history of Andy Warhol's It Girl Edie Sedgwick, this book is so much more: a seminal exploration of 1960's New York, glam, drugs, pop art, the Velvet Underground, etc.  VITAL!!


Liars and Saints Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780743261982
Availability: Special Order
Published: Scribner Book Company - July 13th, 2004

Meloy's debut novel took my breath away on first read and continues to astonish me on each subsequent visit. Her background as a short story writer makes every sentence crisp and clean; she is the rare writer who can encapsulate a character in a few choice words so that I know them intimately in the span of one sentence. Read this, then immediately run out and buy "A Family Daughter," the not-quite-a-sequel companion novel.


A Family Daughter Cover Image
By Meloy
$17.99
ISBN: 9780743277679
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner Book Company - April 4th, 2016

A companion - though not a sequel - to "Liars & Saints," "A Family Daughter" took my breath away.  What if the details of your life were just slightly changed?  Meloy makes small but not insignificant alterations to the Santerre's family story and in doing so creates a tale that is just as poignant and affecting as its predecessor.


Ex Libris: Confessions of a Common Reader Cover Image
$13.00
ISBN: 9780374527228
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar Straus Giroux - November 25th, 2000

Fadiman's small collection of essays about reading and readers is both personal and universal at the same time. These essays make me nod in agreement and recognition.


The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316199988
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 8th, 2014

This is among the most beautifully, richly illustrated picture books I've ever seen. The story, of a creature who stops waiting on his friend to find him and instead goes out into the world to search for her, is adorable and satisfying and a favorite of the whole family.


We Are in a Book! Cover Image
By Mo Willems, Mo Willems (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781423133087
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Hyperion Books - September 14th, 2010

All Elephant and PIggie titles are a hit in our house, but none makes us giggle as much as when Gerald makes us say banana. It's a children's book that is self aware - dare I say, a postmodern children's book. What else could you want when you're on your sixth bedtime story of the night?