COVID-19 UPDATES

  1.  We are OPEN Tuesday-Sunday from 12-6 PM. We are  closed on Mondays.
  2.  Masks covering your nose and mouth are required for entry.
  3.  Our phones are open from 12-4 PM.
  4.  We offer curbside pickup from 11 AM-5 PM every day behind the store.
  5.  Please wait to receive an email letting you know that your order is ready.
  6.  Text 773-771-0099 with your name and order number when you're 10 minutes away.

Bad Magic (The Bad Books #1) (Hardcover)

PLEASE READ BEFORE PLACING AN ORDER:

-Please do not come to the store until you get a confirmation email that your order is complete and ready for pickup!

-Please place orders for pre-order titles separately. If your pre-order is placed with other titles, please note that we will add additional shipping fees.

-Women & Children First is not responsible for lost or stolen packages.

Bad Magic (The Bad Books #1) Cover Image
$17.00
We can order this for you!

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the The Bad Books series.

Description


The magical, bestselling series from Pseudonymous Bosch, the author of the Secret Series!

Magic is BAD.

As in fake. Cheesy. Unreal. At least, that's what Clay, who has seen one magic show too many, thinks.

When words from his journal appear mysteriously on his school wall as graffiti, he never imagines that magic might be to blame. And when the same graffiti lands him at Earth Ranch, a camp for "troubled" kids on a remote volcanic island, magic is the last thing he expects to find there.

But at Earth Ranch, there is one strange surprise after another, until Clay no longer knows what to expect. Is he really talking to a llama? Did he really see a ghost? What is the scary secret hidden in the abandoned library? The only thing he knows for sure is that behind the clouds of vog (volcanic smog), nothing is as it seems. Can he solve the riddle of Earth Ranch before trouble erupts?

Elusive author Pseudonymous Bosch introduces an extraordinary new series that will have you believing in the unbelievable.

About the Author


Pseudonymous Bosch is the infamously anonymous author of the New York Times bestselling Secret Series and the Bad Books. Despite rumors to the contrary, his books are not actually written by his pet rabbit, Quiche; the rabbit is merely his typist.

Praise For…


Praise for Bad Magic:
"Bosch employs, to great effect, his signature irreverence and hilarity... a delight to read. Bad Magic is a clever and playful novel. An excellent addition to middle grade fiction collections."—School Library Journal

"Enjoyable...Bosch's arch narrative voice carries over from his previous books...From The Tempest and Lord of the Flies to shows like Gilligan's Island and Lost, cultural allusions abound as Clay tries to understand the island's many mysteries and meets his fellow campers. Gilbert's watercolors bring in additional humor."
Publishers Weekly



"...Bosch's mix of slapstick silliness, sly authorial asides, and magical adventure will appeal to readers of Lemony Snicket and M. T. Anderson's Pals in Peril series."—Booklist
Product Details
ISBN: 9780316320382
ISBN-10: 0316320382
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: September 16th, 2014
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: The Bad Books