Symphonies Nos. 1 and 2 in Full Score (Paperback)

Before placing an order, please note:

  • You'll receive a confirmation email once your order is complete and ready for pickup. 
  • If you have a membership, please make a note of this in the order comments and we'll apply your discount.
  • If you place a pre-order in the same order as currently available titles, an additional shipping fee will be added to your order. 
  • Women & Children First is not responsible for lost or stolen packages.
Symphonies Nos. 1 and 2 in Full Score By Edward Elgar Cover Image


One of the last of the Romantic composers, Edward Elgar (1857-1934) was also one of England's greatest. Famous for the boldness of his musical creations, he composed works notable for their striking colors and unique, very personal sense of structure. The two symphonies in this collection represent Elgar's best and most powerful work.
The Symphony No, 1 in A-flat Major (Op. 55), termed by Grove's Dictionary of Music and Musicians as the majestic opening of the richest periods in Elgar's career, created a sensation and was performed more than 100 times in the year of its debut. Its companion piece in this edition, Symphony No. 2 in E-flat Major (Op. 63), achieves an even greater degree of clarity and directness of expression. According to Grove's, it may be taken to be the high-water mark of Elgar's creative genius in instrumental music. The composer himself called this work the passionate pilgrimage of the soul.
Reproduced from authoritative scores in this handy, high-quality volume, the symphonies are sure to be warmly received by musicians and music lovers alike.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780486408552
ISBN-10: 0486408558
Publisher: Dover Publications
Publication Date: July 17th, 2012
Pages: 368
Language: English
Series: Dover Music Scores