COVID-19 UPDATES

  1.  Our physical store will remain closed for the foreseeable future
  2. Our phones are open from 12-4 PM
  3.  We offer curbside pickup and priority shipping 
  4.  Curbside pickup is from 11 AM-5 PM every day 
  5. Please wait to receive an email letting you know that your order is ready
  6.  Text 773-771-0099 with your name and order number when you're 10 minutes away

Home Is Not a Country (Hardcover)

PLEASE READ BEFORE PLACING AN ORDER:

  • Please do not come to the store until you get a confirmation email that your order is complete and ready for pickup!
  • Women & Children First is not responsible for lost or stolen packages.
Home Is Not a Country Cover Image
$17.99
On our shelves recently
3 on hand, as of Mar 6 12:30am
(YOUNG ADULT FICTION)

Description


A mesmerizing novel in verse about family, identity, and finding yourself in the most unexpected places--for fans of The Poet X, I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter, and Jason Reynolds.

Nima doesn't feel understood. By her mother, who grew up far away in a different land. By her suburban town, which makes her feel too much like an outsider to fit in and not enough like an outsider to feel like that she belongs somewhere else. At least she has her childhood friend Haitham, with whom she can let her guard down and be herself. Until she doesn't.

As the ground is pulled out from under her, Nima must grapple with the phantom of a life not chosen, the name her parents didn't give her at birth: Yasmeen. But that other name, that other girl, might just be more real than Nima knows. And more hungry. And the life Nima has, the one she keeps wishing were someone else's. . .she might have to fight for it with a fierceness she never knew she had.

"Nothing short of magic...One of the best writers of our times."-- Elizabeth Acevedo, New York Times Bestselling author of The Poet X

About the Author


Safia Elhillo is the author of the poetry collection The January Children, which received the the 2016 Sillerman First Book Prize for African Poets and a 2018 Arab American Book Award.

Sudanese by way of Washington, DC, she holds an MFA from The New School, a Cave Canem Fellowship, and a 2018 Ruth Lilly and Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Fellowship from the Poetry Foundation. Safia is a Pushcart Prize nominee, co-winner of the 2015 Brunel International African Poetry Prize, and listed in Forbes Africa's 2018 "30 Under 30." She is a 2019-2021 Stegner Fellow at Stanford University.

Praise For…


Movingly unravels themes of belonging, Islamophobia, and the interlocking oppressions thrust upon immigrant women.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

[A] surreal crash-course in perspective, agency, and self-love.” —Booklist, starred review


“Artfully profound and achingly beautiful, Elhillo’s verse aptly explores diasporic yearning for one’s home and a universal fascination with possibilities.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593177051
ISBN-10: 0593177053
Publisher: Make Me a World
Publication Date: March 2nd, 2021
Pages: 224
Language: English