The Smash-Up: A Novel (Hardcover)

COVID-19 Notification

*** Thank you for your overwhelming support! Please note: we are 48 hours behind processing online orders.

*** If you choose "In Store Pickup" as your delivery method, but you'd prefer to pick up your order via contactless pickup, please type "CURBSIDE" in the comments box at checkout. Please note: curbside pickup is only available on Mondays and Thursdays from 1 to 5 p.m. and Saturdays from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. If you do not specify "CURBSIDE" your order will be waiting for you behind the register inside the bookstore. 

*** Women & Children First is not responsible for lost or stolen packages.

The Smash-Up: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
Not Yet Published

Description


A family is upended when their small-town life becomes the latest battlefield in the culture wars in this of-the-moment novel for readers of Meg Wolitzer and Fleishman Is in Trouble

Life for Ethan and Zo used to be simple. Ethan co-founded a lucrative media start-up, and Zo was well on her way to becoming a successful filmmaker. Then they moved to a rural community for a little more tranquility--or so they thought.

When newfound political activism transforms Zo into a barely recognizable ball of outrage and #MeToo allegations rock his old firm, Ethan finds himself a misfit in his own life. Enter a houseguest who is young, fun, and not at all concerned with the real world, and Ethan is abruptly forced to question everything: his past, his future, his marriage, and what he values most.

Startling, witty, thought-provoking, and wise, Ali Benjamin's exciting debut novel offers the shock of recognition as it deftly illuminates some of the biggest issues of our time. Taking inspiration from a classic Edith Wharton tale about a small-town love triangle, The Smash-Up is a wholly contemporary exploration of how the things we fail to see can fracture a life, a family, a community, and a nation.

About the Author


Ali Benjamin is the author of the young adult novel The Thing About Jellyfish, an international bestseller and a National Book Award finalist. The Next Great Paulie Fink was named a top children's book of the year by Kirkus Reviews, Publishers Weekly, the New York Public Library, and the Los Angeles Public Library. Her work has been published in more than twenty-five languages in more than thirty countries. Originally from the New York City area, she now lives in Massachusetts. This is her first adult novel.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593229651
ISBN-10: 0593229657
Publisher: Random House
Publication Date: February 23rd, 2021
Pages: 352