Eternal Refuge for voice and piano trio: Text by Mikhail Bulgakov from the novel The Master and Margarita score & parts (Paperback)

Before placing an order, please note:

  • You'll receive a confirmation email once your order is complete and ready for pickup. 
  • If you have a membership, please make a note of this in the order comments and we'll apply your discount.
  • Online orders are nonrefundable and cannot be exchanged.
  • If you place a pre-order to be shipped in the same order as currently available titles, an additional shipping fee will be added to your order.  
  • Women & Children First is not responsible for lost or stolen packages.
Eternal Refuge for voice and piano trio: Text by Mikhail Bulgakov from the novel The Master and Margarita score & parts By Dmitri N. Smirnov Cover Image


ETERNAL REFUGE for voice (mezzo-soprano or baritone) and piano trio, text in Russian by Mikhail Bulgakov from the novel "The Master and Margarita" (the openning of the chapter No. 32 "Mercy and Eternal Refuge"), Op. 10a (Version 3 May 2002, St Albans, UK), 9'. Premiere: 14 Jan 2003, Musikverein, Brahms Hall, Vienna, Wolfgang Holzmair (baritone) & Altenberg Trio Re-reading the novel "The Master and Margarita" by Mikhail Bulgakov I suddenly discovered for myself an astonishing fragment of prose that sounded as greatest poetry (here in my translation): "Gods, o my Gods How sad is the evening earth How mysterious are the mists over the swamps He who wandered in those mists, who greatly suffered before dying, who soared over this earth, carrying an unbearable burden-he knows this. The tired man knows this well. And he without regret leaves the mists of the earth, its swamps and rivers. He, with an unburdened heart, gives himself into the hands of death, knowing that death alone will comfort him." I completed my setting of these words for voice percussion, organ and string orchestra in a couple of days, 15 May 1972, and presented the score to Elena Firsova, my colleague and future wife to whom I dedicated it. Since that time I returned to the piece quite a few times, rearranging and re-orchestrating it for different casts of players. The version of 1981 was premiered 31 January 1982, Philharmonic Hall in Tula, with Irina Muratova (soprano), Yuri Nikolajevski (conductor) and the next evening repeated in Moscow at the House of composers. The vocal score printed by Sovetsky Kompozitor Publishers, Moscow, 1990 in the collection "Vocal Symphonic Works" Vol. 2. Here is another version: for voice and piano trio completed 3 May 2002 in St Albans, UK.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781096370161
ISBN-10: 1096370166
Publisher: Independently Published
Publication Date: April 30th, 2019
Pages: 28
Language: English