COVID-19 UPDATES

  • Masks covering your nose and mouth are required for entry.
  • HOLIDAY ALERT: Online Orders will NOT be processed during our closure on December 25 & 26. We will process them as quickly as we can when we return to the store. Thank you! 

TOP 21 OF 2021

Game, Set, Sisters!: The Story of Venus and Serena Williams (Who Did It First?) (Hardcover)

PLEASE READ BEFORE PLACING AN ORDER:

-Please do not come to the store until you get a confirmation email that your order is complete and ready for pickup!

-Please place orders for pre-order titles separately. If your pre-order is placed with other titles, please note that we will add additional shipping fees.

-Women & Children First is not responsible for lost or stolen packages.

Game, Set, Sisters!: The Story of Venus and Serena Williams (Who Did It First?) Cover Image
By Jay Leslie, Ebony Glenn (Illustrator)
$18.99
On our shelves recently
2 on hand, as of Nov 29 1:33am
(CHILDRENS NON FICTION)

Description


A stirring picture book biography of Venus and Serena Williams that celebrates their achievements…and their sisterhood.

This is the story of two sisters…
who took the tennis world by storm,
who achieved everything possible in the sport…and then some,
and who stood by one another through thick and thin.

Featuring illustrations by Ebony Glenn, Jay Leslie's Game, Set, Sisters! The Story of Venus and Serena Williams tells the inspirational story of two of the most beloved athletes in history. It takes us from their beginnings on a crumbling Compton tennis court to their shining achievements on the most prestigious stages and shows us that despite being served the most challenging hardships in life—illness, family, loss, racism—Venus and Serena always continued to swing back stronger.

About the Author


Jay Leslie graduated from Duke University with degrees in English, international comparative studies, and religion. After writing for Issa Rae Productions and being shortlisted for Chimamanda Adichie’s Farafina Trust, she co-authored a project on James Baldwin with Duke professor Dr. Adam Hollowell. She lives in Berlin, Germany.

Ebony Glenn is an Atlanta-based illustrator and proud recipient of the 2018 Wonders of Childhood Focus Fellowship. She has illustrated books including Brave Ballerina, Not Quite Snow White, and Mommy's Khimar.

Praise For…


"A strong picture book choice that features engaging artwork and an inspirational narrative. Fans of Venus and Serena Williams will be familiar with the basics of the sisters’ background but will see the importance of their sisterly bond and how it helped them overcome obstacles." —School Library Journal

"An inspiring biography of athletes, friends, partners, and sisters." —Kirkus Reviews

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250307408
ISBN-10: 1250307406
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Publication Date: March 30th, 2021
Pages: 40
Language: English
Series: Who Did It First?