The Boy at the Keyhole (Hardcover)

COVID-19 Alert

*** If you're ordering a book that has not yet released, please create a separate order for just that preorder. If we receive orders that contain both not-yet-published books and currently available books, your order will be delayed and $4 shipping will be automatically added.

We are currently about 24 hours behind processing online orders.

When placing an order, please note that USPS is experiencing significant delays due to the global pandemic. If you need your books promptly, we strongly recommend that you select priority mail as your shipping method. Women & Children First is not responsible for lost or stolen packages! 

When placing an order for curbside pickup, please type “curbside pickup” in the comments box at checkout. We will try to accommodate all requests for curbside pickup, but depending on a book's availability, some orders must ship directly from our warehouse. If your order is one of them, we will let you know! 

We so appreciate your overwhelming support! Please be kind and patient with our small staff during this challenging time. ***

The Boy at the Keyhole Cover Image
$25.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


"A fiendishly efficient, gorgeously written, nasty little thrill ride of a psychological thriller. I couldn't put it down, and it's entirely possible that I'll never sleep again. A true tour-de-force of a debut novel."--Lyndsay Faye, author of The Gods of Gotham and Jane Steele

For fans of Shirley Jackson, Sarah Waters and Daphne du Maurier, an electrifying debut about a boy left alone in his family's English estate with a housekeeper he suspects has murdered his mother

Nine-year-old Samuel lives alone in a once-great estate in Surrey with the family's housekeeper, Ruth. His father is dead and his mother has been abroad for months, purportedly tending to her late husband's faltering business. She left in a hurry one night while Samuel was sleeping and did not say goodbye.

Beyond her sporadic postcards, Samuel hears nothing from his mother. He misses her dearly and maps her journey in an atlas he finds in her study. Samuel's life is otherwise regulated by Ruth, who runs the house with an iron fist. Only she and Samuel know how brutally she enforces order.

As rumors in town begin to swirl, Samuel wonders whether something more sinister is afoot. Perhaps his mother did not leave but was murdered--by Ruth.

Artful, haunting and hurtling toward a psychological showdown, The Boy at the Keyhole is an incandescent debut about the precarious dance between truth and perception, and the shocking acts that occur behind closed doors.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781335652928
ISBN-10: 1335652922
Publisher: Hanover Square Press
Publication Date: September 4th, 2018
Pages: 304
Language: English