Lydia's Party (Large Print / Hardcover)

Not all titles listed on our website are available in-store. You can call to confirm that a book you're looking for is available at our store by calling 773-769-9299. 

Lydia's Party Cover Image
Email or call for price.
Out of Print

Description


"It is this kind of book: the kind one buys extra copies of to pass out to friends."
"--Kirkus Reviews "(Starred Review)
For fans of Anne Tyler and Anna Quindlen, a mesmerizing portrait of friendship that explores seven women's lives with a generous embrace and wondrous wisdom
Lydia is having a party--it's a party she hosts every year for six women friends who treasure the midwinter bash. Over a table laden with a feast of food and wine, the women revel in sharing newsy updates, simmering secrets, and laughter. As this particular evening unfolds, Lydia prepares to make a shattering announcement.
As we follow these friends through their party preparations, we meet flawed but lovable characters who are navigating the hassles of daily chores while also meditating in stolen moments on their lives, their regrets, their complicated relationships, and their deepest desires. When Lydia's announcement shocks them all, they rediscover the enduring bonds of friendship and find their lives changing in unexpected ways.
Tender, wryly funny, and exquisitely written, "Lydia's Party" poignantly considers both the challenges of everyday life and of facing our fears while creating characters whose foibles and feistiness will capture readers' hearts.

About the Author


Margaret Hawkins is the author of two previous novels, "A Year of Cats and Dogs "and "How to Survive a Natural Disaster," as well as a memoir about her sister, "After Schizophrenia: The Story of My Sister's Reawakening." She has also written for the "Chicago Sun-Times "and is a Senior Lecturer at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. Visit www.margarethawkins.com. A reading guide is available both there and at www.penguin.com.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781410468932
ISBN-10: 1410468933
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Thorndike Press
Publication Date: May 28th, 2014
Pages: 383
Language: English
Series: Thorndike Core