Nevertheless, She Wore It: 50 Iconic Fashion Moments (Hardcover)

COVID-19 Notification

PLEASE READ BEFORE PLACING AN ORDER: 

  • Thank you for your overwhelming support! We are 48 hours behind processing online orders.
  • As COVID-19 cases surge across the country, we have decided to close our doors for in-store browsing for three weeks beginning on Saturday, November 14
  • During these three weeks, we will offer priority shipping to anywhere in the U.S. as well as curbside pickup in the parking lot behind our store from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. seven days a week.
  • Do NOT come to the store until you get a confirmation email that your order is complete and ready for pickup!
  • OUR ONLINE STORE WILL BE CLOSED ON THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 26 TO GIVE OUR STAFF A MUCH-DESERVED BREAK!
  • Women & Children First is not responsible for lost or stolen packages.
Nevertheless, She Wore It: 50 Iconic Fashion Moments Cover Image
$22.50
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


From the creator of the bestselling Bad Girls Throughout History!

Celebrated illustrator and author Ann Shen shares her striking study of history's most iconic styles, and the women who changed the world while wearing them.

From the revolutionary bikini to the presidential pantsuit, this book explores 50 fashions through bold paintings and insightful anecdotes that empower readers to make their own fashion statements.

• Demonstrates the power of fashion as a political and cultural tool for making change
• Brilliantly illustrated with Ann's signature art style
• Filled with radical clothing choices that defined their time

Looks include the Flapper Dress, the unofficial outfit of women's independence in the 1920s; the Afro, worn as a symbol of black beauty, power, and pride; the Cone Bra, donned by Madonna in her 1989 power anthem "Express Yourself"; and the Dissent Collar, Ruth Bader Ginsburg's famous signifier for when she disagrees with the majority.

With a stunning and vibrant package, this is a gift-worthy treasure for anyone who wants to defy style norms and rewrite the rules.

• An insightful look at the intersection of fashion statements and historical female power
• Perfect for fans of Ann Shen, as well as anyone who loves fashion, feminism, and political consciousness
• Makes a great girlfriend, mom-to-daughter, aunt-to-niece, and friend-to-friend gift for birthdays, graduations, and holidays
• Add it to the shelf with books like Women In Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed The World by Rachel Ignotofsky; Strong Is the New Pretty: A Celebration Of Girls Being Themselves by Kate T. Parker; and Women Who Dared: 52 Stories Of Fearless Daredevils, Adventurers, And Rebels by Linda Skeers.

About the Author


Ann Shen is an illustrator and graphic designer whose work is featured around the world. She is the author of Bad Girls Throughout History and Legendary Ladies. She lives in Los Angeles, California.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781452183282
ISBN-10: 1452183287
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Publication Date: September 1st, 2020
Pages: 128