The Cardboard Kingdom (Paperback)

The Cardboard Kingdom Cover Image
$12.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Awkward, and All's Faire in Middle School, this graphic novel follows a neighborhood of kids who transform ordinary cardboard into fantastical homemade costumes as they explore conflicts with friends, family, and their own identity.

"There's room for everyone inside The Cardboard Kingdom, where friendship and imagination reign supreme." --Ingrid Law, New York Times bestselling author of Savvy

Welcome to a neighborhood of kids who transform ordinary boxes into colorful costumes, and their ordinary block into cardboard kingdom. This is the summer when sixteen kids encounter knights and rogues, robots and monsters--and their own inner demons--on one last quest before school starts again.

In the Cardboard Kingdom, you can be anything you want to be--imagine that!

The Cardboard Kingdom was created, organized, and drawn by Chad Sell with writing from ten other authors: Jay Fuller, David DeMeo, Katie Schenkel, Kris Moore, Molly Muldoon, Vid Alliger, Manuel Betancourt, Michael Cole, Cloud Jacobs, and Barbara Perez Marquez. The Cardboard Kingdom affirms the power of imagination and play during the most important years of adolescent identity-searching and emotional growth.

"A timely and colorful graphic novel debut that, like its many offbeat but on-point characters, marches to the beat of its own cardboard drum." --Tim Federle, award-winning author of Better Nate Than Ever

About the Author


Chad Sell grew up in a small town in central Wisconsin. He lived in a neighborhood much like the Cardboard Kingdom, where he and his friends bounded through backyards in imaginative games and outfits. He also drew a lot and came up with all kinds of colorful characters. His favorites were often the villains, because despite being different and misunderstood, they were powerful and confident, and they got the best costumes. Chad lives in Chicago with his husband and two cats.

Follow the creators of the kingdom on Twitter at @TheCardboardK.

Praise For…


"Sell's cheerful, friendly artistic style... will appeal to fans of Victoria Jamieson. A breath of fresh air."—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Readers may be inspired to craft their own cardboard kingdom after finishing the book. A must-have."—School Library Journal, starred review

"Imagination, these kids prove, can erase what seem like unbridgeable differences."—Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Vibrant and rich.... A cross between Stevenson’s Nimona and Raina Telgemeier’s characters"—Bulletin, starred review

"This easy-reading story offers—in a fun, engaging package—a meaningful commentary on the importance of childhood games."—Booklist, starred review
Product Details
ISBN: 9781524719388
ISBN-10: 1524719382
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: June 5th, 2018
Pages: 288
Language: English