After This (Compact Disc)

After This Cover Image
Special Order


       Alice McDermott's powerful new novel wittily captures the social, political and spiritual upheavals of the mid-twentieth century through the story of a family, and the changing world in which they live.
       While Michael and Annie Keane taste the alternately intoxicating and bitter first fruits of the sexual revolution, their older, more tentative brother lags behind, until he finds himself on the way to Vietnam. Meanwhile, Clare, the youngest child of their aging parents, seeks to maintain an almost saintly innocence.
        After This, alive with the passions and tragedies of a determining era in our history, portrays the clash of traditional, faith-bound life and modern freedom, while also capturing, with McDermott's inimitable understanding and grace, the joy, sorrow, anger, and love that underpin, and undermine, what it is to be a family

About the Author

Alice McDermott is the author of five previous novels, including "Child of My Heart; Charming Billy," winner of the 1998 National Book Award; and "At Weddings and Wakes," all published by FSG. She lives with her family outside Washington, D.C.

Praise For…

Praise for Alice McDermott:
“[McDermott writes] deceptively quiet domestic novels within which lurk large, important matters, among them love, betrayal, constancy, loss, desire, remembrance, and—a particular constant in McDermott’s work—death. Her fiction has none of the chest-thumping bravado that draws gasps from the literati….But there is so much more to be learned from it.” –Jonathan Yardly, The Washington Post  Praise for Child of My Heart:
“This is a brave book matched by a brave performance…. McDermott’s writing is so lyrical, her insights so powerful and affecting that you find yourself looking forward to spending more time with her protagonist, Theresa, just as her wards do.” —AudioFile

Product Details
ISBN: 9781593979676
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Publication Date: September 5th, 2006