Root of All Evil (Andrew Basnett #2) (Paperback)

Before placing an order, please note:

  • You'll receive a confirmation email once your order is complete and ready for pickup. 
  • If you place a pre-order in the same order as currently available titles, an additional shipping fee will be added to your order. 
  • Women & Children First is not responsible for lost or stolen packages.
Root of All Evil (Andrew Basnett #2) By E. X. Ferrars Cover Image
List Price: $15.95
Our Price: $14.95
(Save: $1.00 6%)
On our shelves recently
2 on hand, as of Oct 6 2:33am


If Andrew Basnett were a savvy mystery reader rather than a retired professor of botany, he would know that an invitation to spend Easter weekend at the Berkshire estate of a wealthy distant relative always involves at least one murder. This one delivers a death threat, an imminent disinheritance, a theft, and two corpses--good thing the quiet professor is around to suss out the family's secrets.

About the Author

Morna Doris MacTaggart was born in Burma in 1907 and sent at the age of six to a prestigious boarding school in England. After an early marriage and the publication of two novels, in 1940 her life was turned upside-down when she both met Robert Brown and published Give a Corpse a Bad Name, her first mystery and the first in what would become the five-book "Toby Dyke" series. She and Brown married in 1945 and in 1951 moved to the US, though they returned to the UK only a year later, sickened by America's turn toward McCarthyism. In 1953 Ferrars helped found the Crime Writers' Association. The couple lived in Edinburgh for 25 years, during which Ferrars wrote more than 35 crime novels, finally returning to series mystery--first with the "Virginia and Alex Freer" books and then with "Andrew Basnett"--in the late 1970s, after a move to Oxfordshire. She died in 1995, having published more than 75 novels and numerous short stories, nearly all of them involving dead bodies.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781631942310
ISBN-10: 163194231X
Publisher: Felony & Mayhem
Publication Date: November 25th, 2020
Pages: 216
Language: English
Series: Andrew Basnett