The Blue Castle (Paperback)

Before placing an order, please note:

  • You'll receive a confirmation email once your order is complete and ready for pickup. 
  • If you have a membership, please make a note of this in the order comments and we'll apply your discount.
  • Online orders are nonrefundable and cannot be exchanged.
  • If you place a pre-order to be shipped in the same order as currently available titles, an additional shipping fee will be added to your order.  
  • Women & Children First is not responsible for lost or stolen packages.
The Blue Castle By L. M. Montgomery, Tracy Eire (Editor), Holly Pike (Foreword by) Cover Image
By L. M. Montgomery, Tracy Eire (Editor), Holly Pike (Foreword by)
$21.99
Unavailable

Description


Somewhere between Green Gables and Avonlea there is a Blue Castle....

Lucy Maud Montgomery, internationally best-selling Canadian author, wrote about girls who escaped into the wild when the world stopped making sense. Her girl-protagonists straddle the line between 'civilized' towns of the 1900s, and the mystic wilds of magical girls, young psychics, and natural witches.

29-year-old Valancy Stirling had always been out of step. Elfin and something of a changeling as 1920s ladies go, she's suddenly faced with harsh reality when she's diagnosed with a fatal illness of the heart. Bullied by her well-heeled, stuffy, and judgmental family, Valancy has grown up without love. Now she's forced to realize she will likely die before she's ever lived The distant dream of having a home and loving family of her own-her Blue Castle-will wither unless she takes drastic action. And once Valancy knows she has nothing to lose? Everything changes.

Full of humor and transformation, this relatable story of a young woman pushing the limits of her repressive family and social order belongs on the shelves of lovers of Classics like Jane Eyre, and Emma. But it should also be within arm's reach of modern book and film fans, those who loved Crazy Rich Asians, and Harry Potter. It belongs anywhere where readers savor just desserts, and delight in how the tables turn.

'The Blue Castle' is a fairy-tale upheaval of the status quo, where underdogs can rise, and the cruel get what they deserve. With a fresh Foreword by Grenfell Campus' Dr. E. Holly Pike, Associate Professor at Memorial University of Newfoundland, aimed at the value of the wild and being different to L.M. Montgomery's heroines

Calling all readers who love A Secret Garden, Emma, and Y.A. books like Libba Bray's A Great and Terrible Beauty

Get it today

Product Details
ISBN: 9781680575576
ISBN-10: 1680575570
Publisher: Wordfire Press
Publication Date: July 18th, 2023
Pages: 252
Language: English