How I Became a Ghost, Book 1: A Choctaw Trail of Tears Story (Hardcover)

Before placing an order, please note:

  • You'll receive a confirmation email once your order is complete and ready for pickup. 
  • If you have a membership, please make a note of this in the order comments and we'll apply your discount.
  • Online orders are nonrefundable and cannot be exchanged.
  • If you place a pre-order to be shipped in the same order as currently available titles, an additional shipping fee will be added to your order.  
  • Women & Children First is not responsible for lost or stolen packages.
How I Became a Ghost, Book 1: A Choctaw Trail of Tears Story By Tim Tingle Cover Image
We can order this for you!

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the How I Became a Ghost series.


A 10-year-old Choctaw boy named Isaac tells the poignant story of his tribe’s removal from the only land its people have ever known and to what would someday become Oklahoma. And he shares how that journey led him to become a ghost—one with the ability to help those he left behind. Isaac leads a foursome of remarkable Choctaw comrades: a tough-talking teenage girl, a shape-shifting panther boy, a lovable five-year-old ghost, and Isaac’s talking dog, Jumper. The first in a trilogy; How I Became A Ghost earned a starred Kirkus review.

Praise For…

The beginning of a trilogy, this tale is valuable for both its recounting of a historical tragedy and its immersive Choctaw perspective. — Kirkus Review, STARRED REVIEW
Product Details
ISBN: 9781937054533
ISBN-10: 1937054535
Publisher: Roadrunner Press
Publication Date: June 1st, 2013
Pages: 141
Language: English
Series: How I Became a Ghost