After All Is Said and Done: Taping the Grateful Dead, 1965-1995 (Hardcover)

Before placing an order, please note:

  • You'll receive a confirmation email once your order is complete and ready for pickup. 
  • If you have a membership, please make a note of this in the order comments and we'll apply your discount.
  • Online orders are nonrefundable and cannot be exchanged.
  • If you place a pre-order to be shipped in the same order as currently available titles, an additional shipping fee will be added to your order.  
  • Women & Children First is not responsible for lost or stolen packages.
After All Is Said and Done: Taping the Grateful Dead, 1965-1995 By Mark A. Rodriguez, Stuart Krimko (Foreword by) Cover Image
By Mark A. Rodriguez, Stuart Krimko (Foreword by)
We can order this for you!


"A breathtakingly impressive work, After All is Said and Done represents the kind of creative fanaticism that could only come from a Deadhead." - Good Times, 2022 If any one musical act of the rock and roll era can be said to have transcended the simple categorization of "band," the Grateful Dead is it: by the time they stopped performing in 1995, the Dead had become an international institution with a vast backing organization, a massive and devoted fanbase, and archival recordings both official and bootlegged. The cultural significance of these bootlegs--live concert cassettes which solidified the Dead's legendary status even as they occupied a legal gray area for decades--is utterly unique in the annals of music, and the story of their creation, trading, and endless proliferation is a people's history unto itself. Featuring dozens of interviews with tape enthusiasts and members of the Grateful Dead organization as well as the showstopping visuals from hundreds of archival cassette covers, After All Is Said and Done is artist Mark A. Rodriguez's exploration of that history, a saga of homegrown psychedelia, anarchic graphic styles, and black market fandom as written in magnetic tape.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781944860509
ISBN-10: 1944860509
Publisher: Anthology Editions
Publication Date: September 20th, 2022
Pages: 332
Language: English