COVID-19 UPDATES

  1.  We are OPEN Tuesday-Sunday from 12-6 PM. We are  closed on Mondays.
  2.  Masks covering your nose and mouth are required for entry.
  3.  Our phones are open from 12-4 PM.
  4.  We offer curbside pickup from 11 AM-5 PM every day behind the store.
  5.  Please wait to receive an email letting you know that your order is ready.
  6.  Text 773-771-0099 with your name and order number when you're 10 minutes away.

Three Girls from Bronzeville: A Uniquely American Memoir of Race, Fate, and Sisterhood (Hardcover)

PLEASE READ BEFORE PLACING AN ORDER:

-Please do not come to the store until you get a confirmation email that your order is complete and ready for pickup!

-Please place orders for pre-order titles separately. If your pre-order is placed with other titles, please note that we will add additional shipping fees.

-Women & Children First is not responsible for lost or stolen packages.

Three Girls from Bronzeville: A Uniquely American Memoir of Race, Fate, and Sisterhood Cover Image
$26.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


A riveting, coming-of-age memoir about three Black girls from the storied Bronzeville section of Chicago that offers a penetrating exploration of race, opportunity, friendship, sisterhood, and the powerful forces at work that allow some to flourish…and others to falter.

They were three Black girls. Dawn, tall and studious; her sister, Kim, younger by three years and headstrong as they come; and her best friend, Debra, already prom-queen pretty by third grade. They bonded—fervently and intensely in that unique way of little girls—as they roamed the concrete landscape of Bronzeville, a historic neighborhood on Chicago’s South Side, the destination of hundreds of thousands of Black folks who fled the ravages of the Jim Crow South.

These third-generation daughters of the Great Migration come of age in the 1970s, in the warm glow of the recent civil rights movement. It has offered them a promise, albeit nascent and fragile, that they will have more opportunities, rights, and freedoms than any generation of Black Americans in history. Their working-class, striving parents are eager for them to realize this hard-fought potential. But the girls have much more immediate concerns: hiding under the dining room table and eavesdropping on grown folks’ business; collecting secret treasures; and daydreaming about their futures—Dawn and Debra, doctors, Kim a teacher. For a brief, wondrous moment the girls are all giggles and dreams and promises of “friends forever.” And then fate intervenes, first slowly and then dramatically, sending them careening in wildly different directions. There’s heartbreak, loss, displacement, and even murder. Dawn struggles to make sense of the shocking turns that consume her sister and her best friend, all the while asking herself a simple but profound question: Why?

In the vein of The Other Wes Moore and The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace, Three Girls from Bronzeville is a piercing memoir that chronicles Dawn’s attempt to find answers. It’s at once a celebration of sisterhood and friendship, a testimony to the unique struggles of Black women, and a tour-de-force about the complex interplay of race, class, and opportunity, and how those forces shape our lives and our capacity for resilience and redemption.

About the Author


Dawn Turner is an award-winning journalist and novelist. A former columnist and reporter for the Chicago Tribune, Turner spent a decade and a half writing about politics, race, and class in Chicago and beyond, as well as telling the individual stories of people who fly below the radar. Turner, who served as a 2017 and 2018 juror for the Pulitzer Prize in commentary, has written commentary for The Washington Post, PBS NewsHour, CBS Sunday Morning News show, NPR’s Morning Edition show, and the Chicago Tonight show. She has covered national presidential conventions, as well as Barack Obama’s 2008 presidential election and inauguration. Turner has been a regular commentator for several national and international news programs, and has reported from around the world in places such as Australia, China, France, Ghana. Turner spent the 2014–2015 school year as a Nieman Journalism fellow at Harvard University. In 2018, she served as a fellow and journalist-in-residence at the University of Chicago’s Institute of Politics. Turner is the author of two novels, Only Twice I’ve Wished for Heaven and An Eighth of August.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781982107703
ISBN-10: 1982107707
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication Date: September 7th, 2021
Pages: 336
Language: English