Bad Medicine: Catching New York's Deadliest Pill Pusher (Hardcover)

PLEASE READ BEFORE PLACING AN ORDER:

  • Thank you for your overwhelming support! We are 48 hours behind processing online orders.
  • As COVID-19 cases surge across the country, we have decided to close our doors for in-store browsing. 
  • During these three weeks, we will offer priority shipping to anywhere in the U.S. as well as curbside pickup in the parking lot behind our store from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. seven days a week.
  • Do NOT come to the store until you get a confirmation email that your order is complete and ready for pickup!
  • OUR ONLINE STORE WILL BE CLOSED ON DECEMBER 25 & 26 TO GIVE OUR STAFF A MUCH-DESERVED BREAK!
  • Women & Children First is not responsible for lost or stolen packages.
Bad Medicine: Catching New York's Deadliest Pill Pusher Cover Image
$28.00
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


“Charlotte Bismuth gives us a bold and cinematic true crime story about her work at the intersection of medicine and greed. Bad Medicine is a gripping memoir that toggles deftly between the personal and prosecutorial.” Beth Macy, New York Times bestselling author of Dopesick

Bismuth has written a brilliant account of prosecuting a doctor who became a drug dealer in a white coat. She is haunted by the voices of the dead and listening closely to the voices of the living.” —Nan Goldin, artist, activist, and founder of P.A.I.N.

Bad Medicine is a taut exploration of America’s deadly battle with opioid addiction—an unnerving and inspirational firecracker of a book.” —Karen Abbott, New York Times bestselling author of The Ghosts of Eden Park

For fans of Dopesick and Bad Blood, the shocking story of New York’s most infamous pill-pushing doctor, written by the prosecutor who brought him down.

In 2010, a brave whistleblower alerted the police to Dr. Stan Li’s corrupt pain management clinic in Queens, New York. Li spent years supplying more than seventy patients a day with oxycodone and Xanax, trading prescriptions for cash. Emergency room doctors, psychiatrists, and desperate family members warned him that his patients were at risk of death but he would not stop.

In Bad Medicine, former prosecutor Charlotte Bismuth meticulously recounts the jaw dropping details of this criminal case that would span four years, culminating in a landmark trial. As a new assistant district attorney and single mother, Bismuth worked tirelessly with her team to bring Dr. Li to justice. Bad Medicine is a chilling story of corruption and greed and an important look at the role individual doctors play in America’s opioid epidemic.

About the Author


Charlotte Bismuth started her legal career at the firm of Debevoise & Plimpton, LLP, and joined the New York County District Attorney’s Office in 2008 as an appellate attorney. In 2010, she transferred into the Office of the Special Narcotics Prosecutor, which prosecutes felony narcotics crimes within the City’s five boroughs. She is a graduate of Columbia University, Columbia Law School, and the Instituts d’etudes politiques in Paris. She lives in New York City with her husband and children.

Praise For…


“Charlotte Bismuth gives us a bold and cinematic true-crime story about her work at the intersection of medicine and greed. Bad Medicine is a gripping memoir that toggles deftly between the personal and prosecutorial.”
—Beth Macy, New York Times bestselling author of Dopesick

“From the victims of unscrupulous doctors to the detectives who built the investigation to the nail-biting trial of the criminal doctor, Bad Medicine is a must-read. “
—Gerald Posner, New York Times bestselling author of God’s Bankers and Pharma

 

"A spellbinding story about bringing a deadly doctor to justice."
—Patricia McCormick, two-time National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestelling author 

"This page-turning true detective story blew my mind. Charlotte Bismuth shows, in brilliant detail, what happens when patients become victims. BAD MEDICINE is timely and important; I can't recommend it loudly enough."
—Mona Hanna-Attisha MD MPH, author of What The Eyes Don't See, Flint whistleblower

“BAD MEDICINE is a taut exploration of America’s deadly battle with opioid addiction—an unnerving and inspirational firecracker of a book.”
—Karen Abbott, New York Times bestselling author of The Ghosts of Eden Park

"A measured and powerful account of the landmark case that helped shape our ongoing national response to the opioid crisis. The story will leave readers angry, informed, and most importantly inspired to seek justice and change."
—Former U.S. Rep. Patrick J. Kennedy, founder of The Kennedy Forum, New York Times bestselling author of A Common Struggle
Product Details
ISBN: 9781982116422
ISBN-10: 1982116420
Publisher: Atria/One Signal Publishers
Publication Date: January 19th, 2021
Pages: 368