Covid Info

- Masks are required on high traffic days: Friday-Sunday. 
- Masks are strongly encouraged Monday-Thursday. 
- Read more about our Covid Policy.
- Interested in a private shopping appointment? Find out more HERE. 

In-Person: THIS NIGHT IS OURS by Ronni Davis

We are very excited to host Ronni Davis to celebrate the release of THIS NIGHT IS OURS. For this event, Ronni will be joined in conversation by Miranda Sun, author of IF I HAVE TO BE HAUNTED. 

Please note: This event is free to attend, but registration is required! By registering for this event, you agree to wear a mask throughout the duration of the event per W&CF's Covid-19 guidelines. 

REGISTER FOR THIS EVENT HERE

About THIS NIGHT IS OURS

For one teen girl, the summer before college brings uncertainty about the future, familial pressure, and a budding romance—perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon!

It’s the longest day of the year, and eighteen-year-old Brandy Bailey has just received the worst news of her life: She’s been accepted to a top nursing school, making her mother overwhelmingly proud.

The thing is, Brandy wants to be an artist. She knows all the risks of chasing her dream. She’s heard them from her mother over and over.

On top of that, Brandy’s annoying classmate from high school, the startlingly handsome Ben Nolan, is catching his far-fetched dream of being an actor. Why does he get to be fearless while she has to be practical? Ben is the last thing Brandy wants on her mind, so of course today is the day he decides to glue himself to her hip. Now his perfect face is right there in the cacophony crashing through her head.

Spinning in too many directions, Brandy’s emotions clash with the flashing lights at the town’s summer carnival. Can she have one extraordinary night before everything changes?

About IF I HAVE TO BE HAUNTED

Cara Tang doesn’t want to be haunted.

Look, the dead have issues, and Cara has enough of her own. Her overbearing mother insists she be the “perfect” Chinese American daughter—which means suppressing her ghost-speaking powers—and she keeps getting into fights with Zacharias Coleson, the local golden boy whose smirk makes her want to set things on fire.

Then she stumbles across Zach’s dead body in the woods. He’s even more infuriating as a ghost, but Cara’s the only one who can see him—and save him.

Agreeing to resurrect him puts her at odds with her mother, draws her into a dangerous liminal world of monsters and magic—and worse, leaves her stuck with Zach. Yet as she and Zach grow closer, forced to depend on each other to survive, Cara finds the most terrifying thing is that she might not hate him so much after all.

Maybe this is why her mother warned her about ghosts.

Delightful and compulsively readable, this contemporary fantasy has something for every reader: a snarky voice, a magnetic enemies-to-lovers romance, and a spirited adventure through a magical, unpredictable world hidden within our own.

Ronni Davis lives in Chicago with her husband Adam and her son Aidan. By day she copy edits everything from TV commercials to billboards, and by night she writes contemporary teen novels about brown girls falling in love. She is currently an MFA candidate in creative writing for children and young adults. Her debut novel, WHEN THE STARS LEAD TO YOU, is available now from Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, and the anthology YOU TOO?, in which she is a contributor, is available now from Inkyard Press. Her next novel, THIS NIGHT IS OURS, is out now from Little, Brown Books for Young Readers.

Miranda Sun is a storyteller by nature and wordsmith by trade. A lover of science as well as mythology, she’s fond of exploring museums and aquariums wherever she goes. She makes her home in Chicagoland, where she drinks iced coffee in the dead of winter and keeps an eye out for magic hidden in plain sight. Visit her online at themirandasun.com.

AccessibilityThis event is hosted at the bookstore, which is a wheelchair accessible space. Masks are required. Seating is on a first-come, first-serve basis. To request ASL interpretation for this event, please email events@womenandchildrenfirst.com by no later than 14 days before the event. For other questions or access needs, please email events@womenandchildrenfirst.com.

Event date: 
Wednesday, July 10, 2024 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm
Event address: 
5233 N Clark Street
This Night Is Ours By Ronni Davis Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780316373616
Availability: On our shelves recently
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 14th, 2024

If I Have to Be Haunted By Miranda Sun Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063252769
Availability: On our shelves recently
Published: HarperTeen - September 26th, 2023

Events Terms: