Orange Prizes

The Orange prize is one of the few literary prizes that focuses on women writers. It is a prize for women who write in English anywhere in the world. It has been awarded since 1996. We have included the entire list of winners and shortlisted books here. 

For more information, go to


2010 Shortlist for New Writers

The Book of Fires
Jane Borodale

The Boy Next Door
Irene Sabatini

After The Fire, A Still Small Voice
Evie Wyld


2010 Fiction Winner

Barbara Kingsolver



Please note that two of the shortlisted titles—The Very Thought of You by Rosie Alison and The White Woman on the Green Bicycle by Monique Roffey—are not yet available in the United States. However, the nominees currently available here are:

2010 Fiction Shortlist

Wolf Hall
Hilary Mantel

Black Water Rising
Attica Locke

A Gate at the Stairs
Lorrie Moore


2009 Fiction Winner
Marilynne Robinson 
Marilynne Robinson

2009 Fiction Shortlist

Ellen Feldman

The Wilderness
Samantha Harvey

The Invention of Everything Else
Samantha Hunt

Molly Fox's Birthday
Deirdre Madden

Burnt Shadows
Kamila Shamsie


2008 Fiction Winner
Rose Tremain 
Rose Tremain


2008 Fiction Shortlist

Fault Lines
Nancy Huston

The Outcast
Sadie Jones

When We Were Bad
Charlotte Mendelson

Lullabies for Little Criminals
Heather O'Neill

Patricia Wood


Previous Fiction Winners and Shortlisted Titles 2007-1996

2007 Fiction Winner

Half of a Yellow Sun 

2007 Fiction Shortlist

Arlington Park Rachel Cusk

The Inheritance of Loss Kiran Desai

Concise Chinese-English Dictionary for Lovers Xiaolu Guo

The Observations Jane Harris

Digging to America Anne Tyler 

2006 Fiction Winner

On Beauty 
On Beauty
Zadie Smith  

2006 Fiction Shortlist

The History of Love Nicole Krauss

Beyond Black Hilary Mantel

The Accidental Ali Smith

Everyman's Rules for Scientific Living
Carrie Tiffany

The Night Watch Sarah Waters 

2005 Fiction Winner

We Need to Talk
We Need to Talk About Kevin
Lionel Shriver

 2005 Fiction Shortlist

Billie Morgan Joolz Denby

Old Filth Jane Gardam

The Mammoth Cheese Sheri Holman

Liars and Saints Maile Meloy

A Short History of Tractors in Ukranian Marina Lewycka

2004 Fiction Winner

Small Island
Small Island
Andrea Levy

2004 Fiction Shortlist

Purple Hibiscus Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Oryx and Crake Margaret Atwood

The Great Fire Shirley Hazzard

Ice Road Gillian Slovo

The Colour Rose Tremain

2003 Fiction Winner

Valerie Martin 

2003 Fiction Shortlist

Buddha Da Anne Donovan

Heligoland Shena Mackay

Unless Carol Shields

The Autograph Man Zadie Smith

The Little Friend Donna Tartt

2002 Fiction Winner

Bel Canto
Bel Canto
Ann Patchett

2002 Fiction Shortlist

No Bones Anna Burns

The Siege Helen Dunmore

The White Family Maggie Gee

A Child's Book of True Crime Chloe Hooper

Fingersmith Sarah Waters

2001 Fiction Winner

Idea of Perfection
The Idea of Perfection
Kate Grenville

2001 Fiction Shortlist

The Blind Assassin Margaret Atwood

Fred & Eddie Jill Dawson

Hotel World Ali Smith

Homestead Rosina Lippi

Horse Heaven Jane Smiley

2000 Fiction Winner

Modern TImes
When I Lived in Modern Times
Linda Grant

2000 Fiction Shortlist

If I Told You Once Judy Budnitz

Amy and Isabelle Elizabeth Strout

The Dancers Dancing Eilis Ni Dhuibhne

White Teeth Zadie Smith

1999 Fiction Winner

A Crime in the Neighborhood
Suzanne Berne

1999 Fiction Shortlist

The Short History of a Prince Jane Hamilton

The Poisonwood Bible Barbara Kingsolver

Paradise Toni Morrison

The Leper's Companions Julia Blackburn

Visible Worlds Marilyn Bowering

 1998 Fiction Winner

Larry's Party
Larry's Party
Carol Shields

1998 Fiction Shortlist

Lives of the Monster Dogs Kirsten Bakis

The Ventriloquist's Tale Pauline Melville

The Magician's Assistant Ann Patchett

Love Like Hate Adore Deirdre Purcell

The Weight of Water Anita Shreve

1997 Fiction Winner

Fugitive Pieces
Fugitive Pieces
Anne Michaels

1997 Fiction Shortlist

Alias Grace Margaret Atwood

One by One in the Darkness Deirdre Madden

I Was Amelia Earhart Jane Mendelsohn

Accordion Crimes Annie Proulx

Hen's Teeth Manda Scott

1996 Fiction Winner

Spell of Winter
A Spell of Winter
Helen Dunmore

1996 Fiction Shortlist

The Book of Color Julia Blackburn

Spinsters Pagan Kennedy

The Hundred Secret Senses Amy Tan

Ladder of Years Anne Tyler

Eveless Eden Marianne Wiggins